Vision of The Grave

  The Grave

This vision of a grave that had an open door taught me some things about the various doors in our life and that death is just one of them.  The opening of this door is the most dramatic to us, the living, since it appears to be final.  It is not, as you will see. 

“I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.  John 5:24 (NIV) 

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will live in hope, because you will not abandon me to the grave, nor will you let your Holy One see decay.  Acts 2:26-27 (NIV)

This short vision opened with a nighttime view of a tombstone.  It was of the type with straight sides running into a rounded top.   The tombstone was not ornate and did not have any carvings or readable engravings that I could see from where I was standing, fifteen to twenty feet away.  The tombstone was softly lighted in the moonlight and behind it was a dark hill or large mound, completely black. 

I moved closer to see if I could read the inscription, but somehow I was not afraid that it was mine, or anyone that I knew. 

As I approached the stone marker, it grew in size, much faster than the perspective change I would get just by drawing nearer.  Suddenly, I realized that the marker was now really a doorway into the dark hill behind it.  

As I watched, it opened to reveal a brightly lighted opening, but I could not see inside.  The vision ended at that point.    I’m sorry, but I can only relate what I saw in the vision and then only speculate at what it might mean.

I had the strong impression later that the vision was to show me that death was only a doorway to a new life in the light of the Lord.   I expect that the well-lighted room beyond was a better place than within this broken world.

Open doors.

Consider a butterfly when it is still in a cocoon.  Consider a baby still in the womb.  Consider a chicken still in the egg.  Do they know what is on the other side of their veil?  Can they imagine what is ahead?  Similarly, we are born more than once in this world. 

The first door: 

We are born once when we are conceived. 

That is the first door that opens for us.  Life become a reality in the womb as a place to prepare for a new world.  During the time of our stay in the womb, we have no concept of the world outside, although we hear sounds and feel things moving, the world that awaits is a total mystery, and we come out crying and fearful at what is the death of one life and the rebirth of another. 

The second door: 

Our second birth is our entry into the earthly world.

A second door is opened, and a second birth, now into the light of Man’s world.  We come out kicking and screaming and fearful at what is the death of one life and the rebirth of another. 

The third door:

We are born again in the Spirt

We are born again in the Spirit when we are baptized by the Holy Spirit.  We are regenerated into a new person.  The old one is dead, a new one is born as a child of Christ.  A third door is opened, as we greet the light of Christ and our salvation and prepare for yet another world.

The fourth door:

Death as we know it.

We are born a final time when worldly death overtakes us and we are born into the light of God.  This final door is an eternal one, and we greet the glorious light of God in that final world of paradise.

Mother’s birthday connection.

I don’t know if this is a true connection, but this vision occurred the day before my Mother’s birthday.  She had died the year before of lung cancer after a period of silent suffering.  Perhaps I was thinking of my Mother and the Holy Spirit decided to share with me an insight about death that would comfort me.

I had long ago decided that she had gone to heaven, and I would join her there someday.  I miss her so much, and I want to tell her how much I love her.  I’ve already told you something about heaven that I gleaned from a vision. 

Since I’ve told you about a vision connected to my mom’s death, I’ll next tell you about my dad’s death which came years later.   It has a profound revelation about the nature of Heaven and when we arrive!   Next:  Crossing Over. 

Leave a Reply

