Vision of The Battle

The Battle 

Wednesday, December 24, 1997 about 2:40 A.M.

This vision was after prayers.  I had been praying in our living room, seated in a wing-back chair near my wife’s desk.  I had started my prayers late, around 1:30 A.M..   When I finished, I still had my eyes closed in the dark and was meditating.  This vision was in black and grey, with the figures highlighted in gray against a black background.

I began to see a man with a large sword standing to my right.  He was naked except for a sash-like cloth draped around his shoulder and extended down so that it was also wrapped around his waist.

He was in a defensive pose, not approaching anyone, but menacing.  He had his right arm raised and it was drawn back as if to strike with the sword he held there.  He had no armor or shield. 

Other combatants began to appear.  There were others much like him, but he remained in the center of attention.  The battle raged back and forth but I could not see anyone being injured.  They did not seem to be fighting each other so much as an unseen enemy at the time.

Soon animal-like creatures appeared and it appeared that the men were fighting them.  One of the larger creatures was a lion-like animal, but with distorted features, perhaps just angry and mincing. 

When the animal attacked my central figure, it stood up and was much taller than the man, including his raised sword.  The animal came down on his shoulder, but I did not see the result as he fell out of view.

About that time, I began to see something sweep across the scene from side to side above the ground.  These appeared to be angelic like images of figures, with wings swooping back and forth in the battle that continued to rage.  I began watching the swooping figures and trying to see how they looked,  but I never got a clear view. 

Whenever I saw a clear view of something on the ground that might be an angel that had landed, it would turn out to be another fighting figure of a man, and when I thought he had wings, a closer look showed a flowing cloth waving in the breeze behind him, or an arm drawn way back with a sword.

Often the men were braced with one leg almost parallel to the ground behind him, and the other forward and bent, so that he was very low to the ground and striking at something as if he had tried to fall back in a bracing maneuver.

The battle faded from view and disappeared after a few minutes.  I had begun to notice that the background was getting brighter, clearing from black to grey, then it became too light to see the greyish figures of the vision.  They just faded out.  It was 3:00 A.M. when I got up.

And there was war in heaven. Michael and his angels fought against the dragon, and the dragon and his angels fought back Rev 12:7 (NIV)

Next:  The Fifth Angel?

Leave a Reply

