Vision of The Holy Spirit?

The Anointing

 

Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come. 

2 Cor 1:21-22 (NIV) 

 

It was early Sunday, May 18, 1997.  It was shortly after midnight when I finished my goodnight prayer.   Later  today would be our church=s day which we celebrate as Pentecost Sunday.   

I was praying for the healing service and for several people on my prayer list.  I had started down our church=s prayer covenant which covers the objectives of the church, the pastors, other leaders and their families.   It was a prayer covenant that we had developed for the church.  A member in our healing group had suggested that we needed one to combat spiritual warfare.  He was concerned that our rapid growth would draw the attention of Satan and we would begin to be harassed by him.  The vision started with Jesus.

 

Jesus had been standing there, but now He reached forward with both hands with his arms outstretched and with palms down but with the fingers tipped upward so that I could see his palms.  There were two people kneeling before him with their backs to me.

 

He placed his hands on the two heads.  I could only see their heads from the back and slightly from their right side.  His fingers were together as he rested them on the heads, but cupped slightly over the heads.

 

I then began to see several other people, one at a time, but only from just below the mouth downward, and only as low as the lower part of the neck.   I don’t know who they were or why I only saw part of them, but I have the remembrance of more detail and also of flesh tones so this portion was in color. 

 

One was a woman, who appeared to be older, and another I decided was a man.  I decided these were people that were being healed.   The vision ended after several people came forward for healing.

 

I took this vision as a very positive sign.   Now we were going into a healing service with the very power of Jesus blessing us! 


Tongues from the Holy Spirit 

The vision was very short and I began to pray again.  Suddenly, I began to pray out loud and I no longer knew what I was saying!  It started as only a new syllable and then a word, and a few seconds later there was a stream of words that were in an unknown language!

 

As I continued to pray, I noticed a slightly blue silhouette of a figure clearly outlined in front of me, facing the same way that I was.  This figure was like a representation you see in a medical encyclopedia – a depiction of the nervous system.  No clothes, no hair, no apparent skin, but a man anyway outlined by ribbons of blue fire along the lines of the nervous system.

 

He was on his knees with arms stretched up to the Heavens, as if pleading to God.   Could the Holy Spirit in me be the very wiring of my nervous system?   A vast array of electrical networks that fire up my body?  I suspect that it was not; this was simply how the Holy Spirit chose to show Himself to me.

 

I don=t know any more about this figure, as I never saw Him again, but my guess was that I was speaking in tongues with the help of the Holy Spirit.   I never spoke in tounges again, and I’ve never seen the Holy Spirit represented to me again.

 

As I prepare this text for this Extraordianary Visions article, I’ve decided to begin a small series on the Holy Spirit as depicted in God’s word, the  Bible.   Maybe we can find out a little more about Him.  As the third person of God, He deserves more respect than most of us have given to date.

 

Oldtimer

 

14 responses to “Vision of The Holy Spirit?

  1. It is a rare event, but the Holy Spirit can appear to us. He came to me in dreams during a very intense period of suffering and trial in 1994. He did not take the appearance that He did with you, but had a more human form. I also saw Jesus once at that time as well. The revelations were the strength that got me through some terrible times. After all these years, I finally get to hear of someone else meeting him too. It is a blessing. Stay in touch with me.
    thanks
    marianne
    http://heavenawaits.wordpress.com/

  2. Pingback: Bibles and Airports » Vision of The Holy Spirit? Ordinary People - Extraordinary Visions

  3. Annette Baillie

    Hi,
    I had an experience in 1982 after the death of my baby. I was awake and in terrible sorrow, dreading his funeral the next morning. I could not sleep, in the darkness from a distance I saw something moving toward me. It was a burgundy coloured human heart illuminated by the whitest light all around it. I watched in wonderment as it came closer, in the top left corner were three flames, orange and yellow and tinged with blue, in the centre was a sword and on the hilt of the sword rested a crown of thorns. The feeling that accompanied it was of a love I had never known and a compassion that made me feel so loved. The heart was placed into and onto my physical heart and I fell asleep almost immediiately after. Two days later I received the holy spirit and spoke in tounges and have done so ever since.At the time of this transition, I also had the sensation of my head expanding and vibrating like it was a large balloon and my tounge felt thick and larger than usual in my mouth. I have wondered for years about this vision and I have researched it, trying to find others who have also seen it, but I have not been able to find a modern day account, rather 17th century and prior as differing accounts of the sacred heart. I wanted someone to know besides me that this has occurred. I would like to connect with any others who have genuinely had an encounter or vision of the sacred heart of jesus. The really odd things is that it is traditionally a Catholic symbol but I was not raised catholic and had never seen it prior to the night it was presented to me.

    • I had a vision 2 years ago.Besides filling the spirit praying,singing an at church I’ve only had two spiritual moments that i don’t talk about of fear of being labeled as skit-so or worse.But this vision was very strange to say the least and very vivid.i was not asleep i was praying in the middle of the day when it occurred .i was glad Jesus showed me something but I’ve been scratching my head ever since on the nature or meaning of it.If anyone has a gift on interpation please let me know.and ill tell you it in detail. TY let his will be done.please get back with me annette!

  4. About 2 years ago, several months after my father died I had a very strong dream that my father, on his journey to the other side was at the altar in a coffin in a High Church with seven monks praying for his soul. It was an exceptionally clear dream and one that left a strong impression on my mind. Several month’s later I decided to go on a retreat to a monastery Bilton Abbey for four day’s. This was a strange thing to do as I know no-one who has done such a thing and until the dream I had no idea about monks or their life, all I knew for certain was I had to go. I strongly felt God was calling me and I couldn’t wait to feel close to God and talk to him in private and to pray for my beloved father on his journey. My friends and family were concerned for me as they thought it was a very unusual thing for me to do and in fairness to them it was.
    I loved being on the retreat and felt uplifted, it felt that my soul ran before me in freedom each day, I felt I wanted to dance and laugh with happiness at being so near to God. The day to day running of the monastery was very disiciplined and everyone could only speak one hour per day, I found this enforced solitude a comfort and I felt humbled.

    On the second day I was attending a service and the Abbot ran the church bell (as he did at the start of each service) and as I stood I was aware and sensed very strongly that something seemed to come into the church to join us, easiest way to describe it was something like a wind that came swooping in. It seemed to come from out of nowhere and circled somewhat around the altar enveloping the church. I was keenly aware of it but thought I was imagining thing’s. Then about ten minutes into the service as I was standing praying with my eye’s closed totally relaxed and feeling at peace, a very strange thing happened. In my mind’s eye, at a distance I could see a dot of a white light, the light seemed to grow as it moved VERY quickly towards me then boom, I saw the face of Jesus as if on stained glass, clear as crystal right in front of me. I stared into it just long enough to confirm what I was seeing and then recoiled in fear and opened my eye’s as quickly as I could. feeling that I wanted to stumble backwards. But if I said to you I saw it through my heart centre would you understand what I mean, it came from my heart although I saw it with my eye’s!

    This all happened in a second but I nearly fell backwards in shock. I was too scared to tell any of the monk’s what I had seen and sensed, incase they thought I was a lunatic, or it was my imagination plus I felt how could I a sinner tell such Holy men that I am there for a matter of day’s and see something like that when they have dedicated their lives to Christ.
    I appreciate that it probably sounds like I have a fanciful imagination or grief distorted my view but I can assure you before God that I saw this. Neither the Church or any part of the Abbey has stained glass nor was I reading anything of the like or seeing pictures to leave an impression like that on my mind.

    My question is what did this mean? I wonder was God responding to my prayers letting me know that he heard me. I am ashamed to say I am not a regular Church goer but do believe in him with all my heart, so why would I a sinner be blessed in this way?

    Sorry, I have taken so long to tell you this but I have’nt got a clue what it was supposed to mean and wondered if you would be kind enough to help shed some light on this matter?

    • hi my name is Janet and i read you writing about what you saw. I want to state this first is that you made a statement that you felt guily that you weren’t a person who went to church. this up set me because many of us lose the meaning of gods messages to us because we are trained to be taught that if we don’t go to church we are not worthy of seeing any thing. On the second day I was attending a service and the Abbot ran the church bell (as he did at the start of each service) and as I stood I was aware and sensed very strongly that something seemed to come into the church to join us, easiest way to describe it was something like a wind that came swooping in. It seemed to come from out of nowhere and circled somewhat around the altar enveloping the church. I was keenly aware of it but thought I was imagining thing’s. Then about ten minutes into the service as I was standing praying with my eye’s closed totally relaxed and feeling at peace, a very strange thing happened. In my mind’s eye, at a distance I could see a dot of a white light, the light seemed to grow as it moved VERY quickly towards me then boom, I saw the face of Jesus as if on stained glass, clear as crystal right in front of me. I stared into it just long enough to confirm what I was seeing and then recoiled in fear and opened my eye’s as quickly as I could. feeling that I wanted to stumble backwards. But if I said to you I saw it through my heart centre would you understand what I mean, it came from my heart although I saw it with my eye’s!
      it came through your third eye which is in the center of you forehead, I have a very strong belief in reincarnation.i believe that you were suppose to know that he was okay and that the visions that you saw that you didn’t think you were worthy to see was god way of letting you know he was okay and so are you. your life would have changed from that point giving you strange visions at times and not always understanding them. when you said in your minds eye you mean your third eye. this is where we see most psychic things your faith should have deepen and help ;you to understand you can go to him when ever you need to and don’t have to be in a church but for the sake of knowing it is his house.

  5. A possible interpretation, from my vision experience in 1983, which connected me with heavan for 1 week. The suffering of the crown of thorns, and cross, becomes a sword of power after the Ascension. It is then used to descend, and destroy & purify the powers of darkness that have the world in bondage. The love & joy I experienced during my vision was indescribable. Unite your sufferings with Christ, and joy will follow. This is a catholic teaching, and I was raised Lutheran, but is more in tune with my vision experience. John

  6. The Holy Spirit is constantly making contact
    with us especially when we are experiencing a
    very emotionally charged event /crisis if you
    will.He can take on any form in presenting eg
    a bird, a flower,an animal,abeggar,an elderly
    person,a heart,an eye etc.He meets us exactly where we are emotionally.The fact that one is
    able to see Him,communicate with Him in the l
    language He speaks is testimony that you are
    anointed to be in His presence & communicate
    in a language only privy to the Chosen.That con-
    versation is only between the HS/God & you: &
    any undesirable,unworthy ,unholy beings such
    as the evil one,would not understand the Holy
    communication of the HS.It was for your ears only.Consciously,you may not understand the
    language;but spiritually your soul understands
    everything that was communicated.Be blessed &
    welcome to your unfoldment to the “Light”,It
    usually follows a striking experience.Be blessed,
    you are so loved! Merle

  7. I too have had a vision, and then a confirmation. What a blessing it has been to my heart and to my life. It has changed me and it even helped me to understand that I am worthy of God’s love. But most importantly He is worthy of mine – and that I should thank him more often than I pray for help for myself or others.

    Your vision of Jesus in the church was a wonderful gift – it could have been just to let you know that he knows your suffering, your love, and that your prayers are being heard. How wonderful for you. Praise God.

    My visions were of three still images and they came with a ring of silence in my ears and with a percieved pressure around the crown of my head. My sister says he probably had to do that because I’m so hard-headed :). I don’t know scripture, haven’t even read the Bible (I sure am now though) so I didn’t consider myself worthy. I was confused, asked many friends, and they gave me their thoughts and all of them advised me to pray for confirmation.

    I did receive confirmation in the form of a mind-movie that brought me to beautiful tears. I am now painting the three still images and will send them to who I believe I’ve been asked to send them to. Once they are complete (still have one more to finish), I will let everyone know their story.

    I don’t know what the receiver should gather from each of these pictures, I only know the titles of the pictures – but God has his way. So I have been asked to be a messenger through images. I haven’t heard spoken words. The closest thing to words I’ve received is the knowledge of the titles of the images as I recieved them.

    So many people say they hear a voice, and I wonder if it is not a voice, but implanted knowledge instead? Don’t know.
    I am an artist, so he may just be speaking to me in my own language and to others in theirs.

    Remember to walk in the 9 fruits of the Holy Spirit, and most of all, remember to Praise God always for each gift – even the seemingly bad ones, as they take you on another journey of strength and knowledge.

  8. I believe God gave me a vision last night. After reading a wonderful book, called “Encounters with God,” I kneeled and prayed, and then I turned off the lights, and lay down in my bed, continuing to pray. I began asking the Lord to allow me to see into the spiritual realm. A few seconds passed, and I looked up at the ceiling, and saw what looked like shadows of winged creatures, either doves or small cherub-like angels. They were hovering just above me, probably two or three of them, swirling around, as if to say, “Hello, we are here.” I could sense movement but I could not see them clearly enough. I even got closer to them, thinking, “Am I imagining this, or is this real.” By the way, I do not take medication of any kind. Anyways, I began lifting my hands up to the Lord, praising God, then I saw what looked like white mist or smoke, falling down from the ceiling towards me, but not touching me, just hovering above me, like gently falling mist. This lasted for at least five minutes. I became even more amazed because I’ve read somewhere that the Holy Spirit sometimes appears like this. I continued to pray for my family. Then I started to notice the smoke dissipating, and the angelic beings were gone. I kept looking up to see if they were still there, but they were not. I turned on the light and just laid there in complete amazement. But then, I think back to the many signs, and dreams, lately, that the Lord has been giving me, and I am not amazed because God wants an intimate relationship with us. He hears us when we pray and He will sometimes show you that he is listening. Glory to God! Halleluiah Lord!

  9. I had a vision and the interpretation of it. The vision was very brief but clear and the interpretation came to me in a dream that same night. This was in December of 2010. It was the first and only time that a vision had come to me. It was disturbing in its imagery. While fully awake, sitting up on the bed, I saw the head of a man who appeared to be in his thirties, violently convulsing with eyes bulging out, shaking backward and forward very rapidly and appearing to be choking, obviously in extreme distress and quite apparently near death.

    I had just returned from a weekend trip to visit an old friend. During that trip in a casual conversation with the friend I had referred to “dumb luck” as the best type of luck. On the return trip I was conversing with a man in the airport about the recent leak of vulnerable sites of national strategic interest and I remarked to him that our foiling of several attacks were attributable to “dumb luck”.

    The interpretation of the first part of the vision was quite clear and it was an admonishment of the Spirit. I should not have referred to divine protection in such a casual and foolish manner. The second part ot the interpretation was that the vision was of a man who had been exposed to a chemical nerve agent. The third part was that we should pray earnestly for protection of the nation.

    I felt led to do what I could to encourage people to be aware of a need to pray for the nation. These are perilous times and we have zealous enemies both physical and spiritual who wish to do us harm. Please pray for the nation and be thankful for protection. Give praise and honor to God.

  10. i wrot down my whole vision but i think i may have erased it.if your still respondind to any of this please respond an ill right it again ty old timer.

Leave a Reply

