Don’t be afraid of God’s Will

One of the things I hear most often when I suggest that someone pray about something of concern to them is “What if it isn’t God’s Will?”  What they are really saying is that they are afraid that God will not answer their prayer and then they will lose some of their faith.  They don’t want to take a chance of being turned down or at least being disappointed by the results of their prayer.

It is a tough problem to overcome.   A child afraid to ask their parent for some little thing because they are afraid their mom or dad will say “No.”   Now as an adult that won’t ask their Father God for some major thing that affects their lives because they are afraid of the answer.  Perhaps they have seen a few too many “No” answers in their lives already – either to themselves, to friends or other family members.    A single disappointment can override a lifetime of “Yes” answers they did not pay a lot of attention to.  There are some truths that this person needs to know.

Truths You Need to Know 

Here are the truths you need to know:

Jesus told us how to pray

Pray in God’s revealed will

God loves you

God cares for you

God hears you

Don’t make statements of unbelief

Wait

Be Persistant

Don’t blame yourself

Don’t blame God

What about predestination?

Jesus told us how to pray. Matthew 6:9,10 This, then, is how you should pray: Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

Pray in God’s revealed will.  In my previous post, I gave 10 specific things that the Bible tells us is in God’s Will.   Since the most often prayed for thing is healing, I’ll tell you that Jesus gave the gift of healing to all believers (Mark 16:17-18). He also said we could move our mountains (Mark 11:23-25). These are in God’s revealed will. You can safely pray for anything in God’s revealed will, including healing, and not be afraid!

God loves you. John 3:16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

God cares for you, so don’t worry. God is actually and truly your Father in Heaven (Matthew 6:9-13) who loves and cares for you. Matthew 6:25-34 Therefore do not worry about your life…Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?…and your heavenly Father knows that you need them (certain necessities). But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

God hears you. God has good hearing! 1 John 5:14,15 This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us-whatever we ask-we know that we have what we asked of him.

Don’t make statements of unbelief. “If it is God’s will, I will be healed” is a statement of unbelief because he has already said that it is in his will. Believe him, God does not lie. (The “if” word is a no-no.) You can safely pray that “your will, not mine be done”, and expect that God’s will for your healing will be done because he loves and cares for you, his earthly child.

Wait – What if healing doesn’t happen (immediately)? Above all, don’t lose faith! Healing has begun, but you don’t see it yet, and you don’t understand God’s plan for your healing! Don’t expect an instantaneous cure, even though we acknowledge that with God, all things are possible.  Remember I said that God seems to like “quiet miracles“.

You must understand that some problems take time to resolve because even diseases are required to work within the rules set up by God for both living and dying. Various diseases do work within God’s will, but fortunately diseases do not have our privilege to pray and to praise God, and, in addition, God has given us dominion over all creatures (Genesis 1:28). His promise to heal is in agreement with his gift to us of dominion over all creatures (including disease). Healing does begin when you pray in faith.

Be Persistant.  God’s plan and timetable are not always our plan and timetable, and are not always within our understanding. Be persistent (Luke 11:8 , also 18:1-8) and always be faithful to God. He heard you the first time, but don’t be discouraged! Be persistent, be remindful, be thankful, and know that without prayer, your condition at this moment might well have been much worse!

What if God’s final answer is “No”?

Don’t blame yourself  Don’t blame yourself if the answer is No.   You have done nothing wrong by praying.  It was not a selfish act to ask for God’s will to be done or to make promises He knows you can’t keep or to ask for personal or family healing – He expects you to.  Nothing you did or didn’t do could affect the outcome if God’s final answer is no. 

Dont blame God either.  Although I always assert that “God is in Control,” I don’t ever blame God.  I accept His will.  Always.  Time will come soon enough for all of us to reach the understanding as to Why God’s will was not the same as ours.  God is in Control, but it does not mean that He chose to hurt you or chose to allow a family member to die without some underlying reason.   I like to think of it this way:   Our life on earth is very very short compared to the infinity that lies ahead.   Christians went to their deaths willingly in those early days with the full faith that they would be joining God soon.   We all die and the few years, as we see them cut short, is nothing – zero, compared to infinity.   There is another comforting factor that came from my visions – we are already with God in a timeless heaven.  Not just us but our ancestors and our descendants as well.

What about predestination? Predestination is a theology that says that God finished His creation in one week and every wheel and every atom and every thought was conceived and planned out to the most infinate detail during that time, forever into the future.  My own church, Presbyterian, believes in predestination, and will bring up double and triple predestianation if necessary to explain things.  To say that is to say that God is an absentee from our current world and is incapable of making changes that He has already predetermined.   Hogwash.  God can do whatever He chooses at any time.    Rewrite history, rewrite present, rewrite future – easy for the creator of the entire universe.  If He chose the future, He can certainly change it.  God is always in control.

I can certify that through my own experience that predestination is a Theology invented by theologians, not God.  The theologian’s job is to build a belief system. God sent the Holy Spirit to help us overcome that burden in our life.   God can change His mind whenever He wants to.  It is the reason that prayer works.

Thank you, God. 

Oldtimer

5 responses to “Don’t be afraid of God’s Will

  1. SAVED BY GRACE
    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actuallythought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 2004, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages . God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].
    PEACE BE WITH YOU
    MICKY

  2. Thank you, Micky

    May God bless you always,

    Jim

  3. I am going through what Micky went through. I read this in dispair, in order to hear that I was not alone. I was glad to see I was not. Thank you MIcky. I have been afraid and in fear of “thinking of god” or thinking about the beloved people in my life that has died. I think that the closer I want to get to god, the devil or something bad fights me to stay away, and makes me feel that if I don’t talk to god, I’ll not go through so much torture in my mind. Feelings of not wanting to live, giving up. I have sufferred from anxiety and depression, and I have so much to live for, but my insides feels like it doesn’t want to struggle all the time. I need god desperately, and I want to feel like Mickey does. I’m there, doing well, then something happens and brings me down..as he said no therapist can fix. it’s like a dark hole that surrounds you and pushes you down, and you fight to stay holding to the edges of the ground to stay up. I know I need to speak to someone in the church, I know this, and will fight this over and over. I have not been to church since my 9 year old was in communion. I feel guilty. Scared and ashamed. I want to feel whole again. Please pray for me.

  4. I just prayed for you Alicia. May God bless you.

  5. As I have been doing, but failed to express it here. My bad and I hope I’m forgiven. I thought I had answered.

    Thank you MH for bringing it to my attention.

    May God bless both of you.

Leave a Reply

